Pepsi Deccan Knights lifts CSG T10 Boom Cup


JEDDAH — Pepsi Deccan Knights thrashed sister team Deccan Knight by 9 wickets in the final and lifted the CSG T10 Boom Cup, sponsored by Centre Systems Group (CSG) and organized by Jeddah Cricket Association. This is the first tournament after resumption of cricket activities post COVID-19 under the auspices of the newly formed Saudi Arabian Cricket Federation, which is headed by Prince Saud Bin Meshal Bin Mohammed Bin Saud Bin Abdul Aziz.

What was expected to be a high scoring thriller, unfortunately turned out to be a one-sided affair, Deccan Knights lost both their prolific openers Shad Khan and Shaan Malik in the first 2 overs of the game and from then it was an uphill task thanks to some fine bowling by PDK bowlers particularly Hyder, who picked up 2 wickets for 13 runs. It was only in the last 2 overs that they managed to score 25 runs and reach a respectable score of 92 in 10 overs. However, it proved to be too little as Najeeb put them to the sword scoring an unbeaten 52 off 23 balls to enable PDK reach 94 for 1 in 8 overs — a thumping 9 wicket win.

After the match the prize distribution ceremony started with A. A. Merchant welcoming Chief Guest Mohammed Uzair Ahmed, business development manager of Centre Systems Group UK, and other dignitaries Ahmed Abdulrahman owner of AAA Builders, Faheem Ahmed, sales manager of Middle East Paper Company and JCA Chairman Dr. Faiz Al Abideen, thanked Centre Systems Group for having sponsored JCA T10 Boom 2 week League in which 16 teams participated in a knock-out to decide Winner, Runner-up and Plate Winner.

He briefed the audience on the just concluded league and thanked JCA Executive Committee members Syed Meer, Majid Siddiqi, Zaheer Peeran Shakeel Razzak, Dr. Mushtaq, Zahid Khan, Zubair Khan under leadership of Ahmed Bin Mahfooz (executive secretary), panel of umpires Tauseef, Ashraf Ranjha, Omar Awan and Abdul Jaleel for making first post COVID-19 event a grand success.

Chief guest Mohammed Uzair Ahmed congratulated Winner Pepsi Deccan Knights, Runner-up Deccan Knights and Plate Winner Royal Jurana and all participating teams who toiled hard in the scorching summer to make CSG T10 Boom League a success. He thanked JCA for giving CSG an opportunity to sponsor JCA T10 Boom League.

JCA Chairman Dr. Faiz Abideen thanked CSG Founder and VP Muzammil Riyaz, for sponsoring JCA T10 Boom League and look forward for future sponsorships for the mutual benefit of both CSG and JCA. Dr. Faiz presented a plaque from JCA to Muzammil Riyaz, which was received by Mohammed Uzair Ahmed as the former could not make it from Dubai due to current travel restrictions.

Winner: Pepsi Deccan Knights; Runner-up Deccan Knights; Plate Winner Royal Jurana. Performance Awards: Best Batsman: Shaan Malik of Deccan Knights (136 runs), Best Bowler: Hyder of PDK (5 wickets), Best All-Rounder: Shad Khan of Deccan Knights (115 runs and 6 wickets) and Man of the Final: Najeeb of PDK (52 runs not out).

Summarized Scores

Final: Pepsi Deccan Knight beat Deccan Knight by 9 wickets

Deccan Knights 92 for 6 10 overs Adil 23, Zeeshan 19, Hyder 2 for 13. PDK 95 for 1 7.3 overs Najeeb 52* (23b), Afroz 21 (8b).


Pepsi Deccan Knight Beat ARM United by 7 wickets

ARM United 122 for 4 10 overs Nazeer 61 (29b), Majid 30 (19b). PDK 126 for 3 9.3 overs Bilal Mughal 45 (20b), Afroz 30 (22).

Deccan Knights beat Hala International by 10 wickets

Hala International 79 for 6 10 overs Zaid 15, Ibrahim 10, Bilal 4 for 6, Shad Khan 2 for 7. Deccan Knights 82 for no loss 5 overs Shan Malik 39* (14b), Shad 38* (15b).

Plate Trophy Final

Royal Jurana Beat Pak Zalmi by 19 runs

Royal Juaran 101 for 7 10 overs Ijaz 58 (22b), Rao Aslam 20 (16b), Raza 4 for 7, Saeed 2 for 18. Pak Zalmi 82 for 7 10 overs Tauseef 23 (16b), Saeed 19 (19b), Muzammil 2 for 7, Rafiq 2 for 24.


Royal Jurana beat Jeddah Gladiators by 13 runs

Royal Jurana 130 for 3 10 overs Yasir 48 (17b), Ijaz 32 (18b). Jeddah Gladiators 117 for 3 10 overs Imran 50 (20b), Raja Asif 20 (11b), Muzammil 2 for 15.

Pak Zalmi beat Kashmir Stags by 5 wickets

Kashmir Stags 109 for 9 10 overs Nasir 32 (18) Abid 2 for 10, Tauseef 2 for 14. Pak Zalmi 112 for 5 9.1 overs Waqas 49 (16b), Abid 25 (12b), Nasir 3 for 20, Usman 2 for 29. — SG